Workout Playlist #1

Today I present to you, for your listening pleasure, a hardcore awesome playlist I’ve created to get you pumped as hell for your workout. Of course, not everyone is going to like the kind of music I like, but I’ve tried to include a wide variety. Hopefully something will speak to you.

1) Studio Killers – Ode to the Bouncer

I always like to start out a playlist with something fast-paced and upbeat. This techno-y number is ridiculously underplayed, IMHO, and the music video is downright trippy.

2) Maino – All The Above

This is pretty much a Broadway chorus number disguised as gangster rap. I count at least four-part harmony. It balances the gunshot sound effects quite nicely.

3) Backstreet Boys – Larger than Life

Always gotta have at least one classic on there. This used to be my song of choice for deadpan, secretive mirror-singing in my underwear when I was eleven.

4) The Offspring – You’re Gonna Go Far, Kid

I’m a huge Offspring fan and this is one of their best. If you can get past Dexter Holland’s nasal-ass voice, you’ll love it, too. No one can accuse them of lacking in passion.

5) Cher – Believe

Oh, Cher. So inspirational. So autotuned.

6) Gotye – I Feel Better

That’s right guys, Gotye has other songs! This one has a great beat and really shows off Wouter DeBacker’s terrific tenor. It feels like it should be the soundtrack to a montage in a 90’s romantic comedy.

7) The Silent Comedy – The Well

The Silent Comedy’s sound is rustic and folky, but this rollicking tune has a touch of backwoods gospel about it, with thoughtful lyrics.

8) Enrique Iglesias – I Like It

He likes it.

9) AWOLNATION – Sail

This does not necessarily fall into the “underplayed” category, but I dunno, maybe you don’t listen to the radio as much as I do. I find this one is really good for lifting. You’ll feel like Superwoman.

10) Lady Gaga – Born This Way

I’m closing this playlist with this hit from The Gags herself, to remind you that just because you’re working out to better yourself doesn’t mean you’re not already B-E-A-yooteeful! Now get out there and sweat like you mean it!

Total playlist time: 39:16

One comment

  1. Thanks for some great recommendations! I have to have a good workout mix to keep me going!

Leave a Reply

